Branch History

The FGBI “ARRIAH” Branch in the Republic of Crimea was established pursuant to Order of the Rosselkhoznadzor No. 140 of March 28, 2014 at the premises of the Crimean Experimental Station under the National Scientific Centre “Institute of Clinical and Experimental Veterinary Medicine”. The specific scientific and research veterinary institution has been existing since the 19th century.

Foundation Background

In those distant ages the station foundation was conditioned by the process of industrial development and veterinary situation in the Empire.

The abolition of serfdom in 1861 facilitated a rampant development of capitalism in Russia. Industrial production got a boost, new factories and plants were built, urban population grew, new goods and money relationships were established. Technical progress was noted in agriculture too. Production volumes of crop and livestock products increased. Number of domestic animals grew bigger. Herds of many thousand horses and cattle were pastured in the Black sea steppes.

At that time the Tauric Province occupied the area of 59 thousand square kilometers and covered Crimean territory and southern part of the Kherson and Zaporozhian Oblasts.

Increase in the number of animal population resulted in a dramatically severe epizootic situation in the region.  Anthrax became a bane for livestock production at those times. Every year devastating epidemics of this disease caused huge losses for animal owners and killed thousands of animals. In the south of the country anthrax affected mainly sheep and cattle. In Central Russia, Siberia and in the east horses and cattle were the target. At that time it was already known that anthrax is caused by a specific microbe; pure culture of this microbe was prepared by R. Koch (1876) and L. Pasteur (1877). Some years later L. Pasteur in France and L.S. Tsenkovsky, Professor of the Kharkov Veterinary Institution in Russia developed a vaccine against anthrax. The efficacy of the preparations was tested by numerous scientific and commercial trials in different animals.

Practical use of anthrax vaccine for mass immunization of sheep, cattle and horses became highly needed.

 

Station Establishment and Development in the end of the 19th, early 20th centuries

On February 22, 1897 the Government of the Tauric Province in Simferopol opened a Veterinary Office. This was the beginning of the FGBI “ARRIAH” Branch history in the Republic of Crimea.

The Director of this new structure became A.N. Zhuka. The staff included the head of the office, a senior provincial veterinarian and an analyst. 29 veterinarians were employed in the province in the beginning 20th century.

The Office was responsible for culturing of anthrax vaccine and control of its use on farms. Thanks to preventive immunizations anthrax epidemics were successfully eradicated in Tauric steppe areas.

In 1903 the Veterinary Office was renamed into the Veterinary Bacteriological Laboratory. A specially designated building was built for this purpose by the provincial government. This contributed to the improvement of laboratory capacities and enabled to start production of erysipelas vaccine, collection and storage of sheep vaccine lymph and continue production of anthrax vaccines. The Laboratory carried out diagnostics of such mass animal diseases like glanders, bovine tuberculosis, etc.

In 1931 the Veterinary and Bacteriological Institution was established on the basis of the Veterinary Bacteriological Laboratory. Its tasks included production of vaccines and sera against anthrax, erysipelas, pasteurellosis and some other preparations.

In 1935 the Institute was renamed into the Crimean Experimental Station under the National Scientific Centre “Institute of Clinical and Experimental Veterinary Medicine”. The Station stopped production of biological preparations and became completely involved into research and scientific activities aimed at the study of animal and poultry disease spread, epidemiology, prevention and treatment. In cooperation with practicing veterinarians a huge work was done to detect tuberculosis and brucellosis affected cattle on Crimean farms. Horses were surveyed for glanders, vaccination of sheep against sheep pox was introduced. Studies devoted to helminth and ixodic tick faunas of the Peninsula animals were started, as well as rabbit and bee disease research.

Yu. F. Nesterova, K. L. Semenchuk. Ye. I. Skripnik significantly contributed to the solution of the mentioned tasks. During her fruitful years (1935 – 1960) at the Station, Yevdokia I. Skripnik, Doctor of Sciences (Veterinary Medicine), was the first to diagnose and describe candidiasis of udder in cattle. She proved that diplococci play a crucial role in the etiology of mass calve diseases. She developed and arranged the production of specific sera for treatment and prevention of these diseases.

Due to peculiarities of climate and territorial location Crimea is endemic in blood parasitic infections of livestock, and this motivated the necessity to study this issue. The first researchers who devoted a lot of time and efforts to studies of ixodic tick fauna in Crimea were V. I. Kurchatova and B. D. Sokolova, dealing with these issues in the 30-40-ies of the last century. They collected data on spread and propagation seasonality of ixodic ticks and host animals species associated with hemosporidial infections of domestic animals.

Vast pastures and mild climate favourable for nearly all-year-round cattle grazing facilitated development of sheep farming in the Crimea (sheep population amounted to 1.5 billion by 1980). Much attention was paid to prevention and eradication of small ruminant diseases.

A lot of effort was put in the study of etiology and control methods for mixed respiratory sheep diseases. It was established that pathological processes in the respiratory tract of sheep had an associative character. Co-members of these associations are viruses (adenovirus, rotavirus, parainfluenza-1), bacteria (pasteurella, myсoplasma, streptococcus, staphylococcus), helminthes (dictyocaulus, mulleria, prostogonim, cystocaulus). Later a theory of bronchial pneumonia treatment with antibacterial and anthelmintic drugs using aerosol spraying and smoke pellets was developed (D.Yu. Khala, V.A. Volkolupova, Yu.A. Kuznetzov, 1985-1990).

In the pre-war years 33 specialists worked at the station including 10 Candidates of Science.

During the war some station workers fought at the fronts of the Great Patriotic War, others were evacuated inland to the East, and some survived the horror of the Nazi invasion. In 1945 the staff of the station comprised 14 people, four of which were candidates of science.

Despite considerable hardships due to poor equipment the station team kept working on improvement of mass animal disease control. This work was done in close cooperation with the specialists of the Crimean holdings, raion and oblast authorities.

Therefore, effective methods of tuberculosis, brucellosis and glanders control were developed. The Crimea Oblast was the first in Ukraine to eliminate these diseases. For several decades already there has been sustainable freedom from these severe diseases.

Post war years, end of the 20th century –beginning of the 21st century

During the post war time egg and poultry meat production was gradually increasing. That’s why intensive poultry production influenced the course of the well-known poultry diseases and new previously not reported diseases emerged.

Historical analysis of infectious poultry diseases in the Crimea demonstrates that viral diseases were most significant. Thus, in 60s-70s Newcastle disease was studied by V.G. Bogdanov, V.I. Sikachina, 1997. Whole blood agglutination test was developed and applied for the first time. It enabled developing Newcastle disease rapid diagnosis technique.

 

In 1995-2005 KNIVS researchers carried out a profound study of such diseases: infectious laryngotracheitis, duck virus enteritis, Gambaro disease, Newcastle disease, mycoplasmosis (V.F. Makogon, V.G. Bogdanov, Ye. A. Belyavtsev).

Among viral diseases of commercial poultry reported in the Crimea during the last decade were: highly pathogenic avian influenza, infectious bursal disease, infectious laryngotracheitis, Marek’s disease.

In 2005, 2006 and 2008 highly pathogenic avian influenza was reported in the Crimea. Totally within this period 26 infected areas/settlements were detected where 265,110 birds died and were destroyed.

In 2010 infectious bursal disease outbreak was reported at a poultry establishment AOOO “Southern-Holding” in the Republic of Crimea. The disease development on this establishment was characterized by an unexpected start and rapid disease spread.

In 2011 infectious laryngotracheitis outbreak was reported at the same establishment in vaccinated poultry of 150-162 days of age.

In 2013 Marek’s disease was reported in unimmunized pullets on a backyard farm of the Simferopol Raion.

The specialists of the Laboratory for Avian Diseases participated in elimination of the specified above diseases. The specialists of the Laboratory were always in the focus of infection, performed material sampling, agent isolation, and primary agent identification, studied their biological properties, and developed the strategy of the disease control.

valuable work on studying blood parasitic infections and their carriers, ixodic ticks, was done in 1950-1970 by M.V. Kartashov, D.K. Nechnenny, .I. Kuthatov, V.M. Romanov. Their activities were focused on development of measures aimed at tick and animal blood parasite (cattle, small ruminants, horses) control. As a result of the work done aerosol method of ectoparasite control in facilities and pastures was recommended and implemented. Relationships between ixodic ticks and Haemosporidia were studied, methods of blood parasitic infection prevention were developed.

their tick-carriers became topical again. In particular after 1991 because of perestroika processes in the agricultural sector regular preventive sheep treatment with antiprotoazal and acaricidal agents was stopped. Due to that sheep morbidity caused by blood parasite infections – anaplasmosis and babesiosis sharply increased. The specialists of the station V.A. Volkolupova, V.A. Pinchuk, M.A. Passunkina, N.G. Onishenko performed work aimed at studying species diversity of the fauna ixodic tick complex, sheep parasite, in the Crimea, improving diagnostic measures and developing the system of sheep blood parasitic infection prevention.

The station specialists I.V. Loparev, I.F. Golubev, A.D. Krinochkin and V.V. Litvinenko (1957-1969) developed and applied the aerosol method of bovine lungworm Dictyocaulus viviparous prevention and treatment using aluminium iodide.

The station specialists performed profound studies of echinococcus and trichinellosis (Yu. G. Artemenko, 1980-1985). Epizootology of these infestations was studied. The fact that these agents have many strains as well as their ability to infect only specific animal species was proved and trichinellosis serological diagnosis was developed.

There were hard times in the history of the Crimean Experimental Station. Starting from 90-ies of the last century when the USSR collapsed the Station staff had to survive. The financing of scientific and research works, purchase of equipment, materials, scientific literature almost stopped, the staff number was significantly reduced from 50 to 12 employees. During winter season the temperature in laboratory facilities was 6.0 – 8.0ºC due to finance lack for heating system maintenance.

Nevertheless, notwithstanding the difficulties faced the work was continued. The laboratory staff was basically busy with scientific consultations rendered to farm workers when the latter needed to solve veterinary problems related to livestock feeding.

A small range of bacteriological, parasitological and mycological tests was carried out, the nutrition values of different feed types were determined. Due to the lack of finance for new equipment purchase and staff training many up-to-date techniques to diagnose infectious animal diseases, like ELISA and PCR, were not available.

Our Times

After in 2014 the FGBI “ARRIAH” Branch was established in the Republic of Crimea all the gained scientific experience and methodical approaches to laboratory tests developed during the long years of Station operation remained within the walls of a reorganized institution.

Currently the Laboratory for Avian Diseases, Laboratory for Infectious Animal Disease Diagnostics, Laboratory for Ichtyopathology and Fish and Invertebrate Veterinary and Sanitary Testing, Laboratory for Food Safety are operating.

Transfer of the Crimean Experimental Station under the subordination to the All-Russian Scientific and Research Institution for Animal Health as a Branch became a new step in the development of the Laboratory for Infectious Animal Disease Diagnostics. Nowadays 4 persons are employed by this Laboratory; two of them are Candidates of Sciences. The basic activity of the laboratory is epizootological monitoring aimed at the determination of infectious animal disease introduction and spread risk, diagnostic services rendered to livestock establishments and private animal owners.

Within the National Epizootological Monitoring laboratory tests by serological and molecular-biological methods are carried out.  1,080 bovine sera samples were tested for bluetongue and Schmallenberg viruses by ELISA. 58 samples of pathological material from small ruminants for bluetongue virus genome and 145 samples of pathological material from wild and domestic pigs and RTE meat products from Ukraine were tested for ASFV genome by PCR.

The laboratory staff within the scientific and research project called “Development of hazard identification system and determination of veterinary risks of pathogen introduction into the RF territory with imported live animals and animal products, forecasting of their occurrence and development in the light of the Veterinary Service preparedness” vectors and habitat of blood-sucking insects, vectors of transmissive ruminant infections (bluetongue and Schmallenberg disease) are studied. For this purpose insect traps to collect midges and mosquitoes are located on Crimean farms, in parallel meteorological parameters are registered (temperature, air flow speed, precipitation).

For more than a year of operation of the Laboratory for Infectious Animal Disease Diagnostics a real technological revolution took place. The reconstruction and major repair of laboratory facilities in compliance with the European standards are being finished; new laboratory equipment is being installed, documents to receive the right for Pathogenicity Groups III-IV microorganisms are being prepared. The qualifications of specialists have been significantly improved: the laboratory staff was trained in diagnostics of infectious animal diseases, took part in the seminar devoted to ASF control.

Personnel of the Laboratory for Avian Diseases are mainly engaged in control of infectious diseases in commercial and domestic poultry on the peninsula and that is achieved by means of the continuous monitoring.

На данный момент в лаборатории трудятся 6 сотрудников: 1 кандидат ветеринарных наук, 2 специалиста с высшим профильным образованием, один из которых

Currently there are six employees in the laboratory: one Candidate of Science (Veterinary Science), two qualified experts, one of them is a post-graduate student in the FGBI ARRIAH, and three research assistants.

Monitoring tests will be always of importance for the Republic of Crimea due to the geographical position of the peninsula. The Crimea is located in the intersection of the birds’ migratory routes, and Azov and Black Sea basin is the site of spring and autumn stays and wintering of large quantity of wild waterfowl. All these facts facilitate spread of dangerous infections. According to the calculations of ornithologists and experts of the Official Veterinary Service only in autumn and spring over 25 million birds cross the territory of the peninsula and 10 million of them stay for the winter. Certain part of these birds cross the peninsula during annual spring migration from the African continent.

In addition to the monitoring tests the Laboratory for Avian Diseases performs serological tests of biological material collected from poultry within the contracts with poultry farmers and backyard poultry owners. The laboratory researchers offer consultations on methods for avian disease diagnosis and control. They also consult on poultry maintenance and feeding and provide the poultry owners with scientifically based opinions.

Up-to-date diagnostic equipment was purchased for the activities of the Laboratory for Avian Diseases (ELISA test machine) that allows for rapid serological testing of poultry blood samples for maternal, post-vaccination and diagnostic antibodies against almost all poultry viruses.

During 2014-2015 the number of ELISA serological tests amounted to 500 tests and HI amounted to 230 tests. The Laboratory staff additionally develops accreditation documentation (standard operating procedures for serological tests, operating instructions for available equipment).

In the nearest future, as soon as the reconstruction is completed, the equipment for molecular and genetic tests (PCR) is planned to be acquired. Introduction of the new diagnostic test method will take the laboratory to the new stage of its development. It will allow for rapid and high quality diagnosis of avian infectious diseases, research of molecular and biological properties of avian infectious disease agents.

Activities of the FGBI ARRIAH Branch are aimed at food safety assurance in the Republic of Crimea and Sevastopol, official monitoring of highly dangerous zoonotic diseases and at research activities.

All interested staff members were retained and they continue their research activities aimed at animal health maintenance in the Crimea. In order to increase the staff new working places were established and staff schedule was approved to include 61 staff members. Currently four Candidates of Science and 20 qualified experts are employed in the Branch.

История филиала

Филиал ФГБУ «ВНИИЗЖ» в Республике Крым создан по Приказу Россельхознадзора от 28.03.2014 № 140 на базе Крымской опытной станции Национального научного центра «Институт клинической и экспериментальной ветеринарной медицины». Базовое научно-исследовательское ветеринарное учреждение существует с XIX века.

Предпосылки основания

Создание станции в те далекие времена было обусловлено ходом развития производственных отношений и состоянием ветеринарного дела в империи.

Отмена крепостного права в 1861 г. способствовала бурному развитию капитализма в России. Росло промышленное производство, строились новые заводы и фабрики, увеличивалось городское население, по-новому складывались товарно-денежные отношения. Технический прогресс коснулся сельского хозяйства. Выросли заготовки сельскохозяйственной продукции земледелия и животноводства. Росло поголовье домашних животных. Так, в степях Причерноморья выпасались тысячные отары, гурты лошадей и крупного рогатого скота.

В то время Таврическая губерния занимала площадь более 59 тысяч квадратных километров, включала территорию Крыма и южную часть Херсонской и Запорожской областей.

Увеличение поголовья вызывало крайне тяжелую эпизоотическую обстановку в крае. Бичом животноводства в те годы стала сибирская язва. Из года в год опустошительные эпизоотии этой болезни приносили владельцам скота огромный ущерб, вызывали гибель десятков тысяч животных. На юге страны сибирская язва поражала в основном овец и крупный рогатый скот. В центральной России, Сибири на востоке – лошадей и крупный рогатый скот. В то время уже было известно, что сибирскую язву вызывает особый микроб, чистую культуру которого впервые получили Р. Кох (1876) и Л. Пастер (1877). Через несколько лет после этого Л.Пастер во Франции и профессор Харьковского ветеринарного института Л.С. Ценковский в России изготовили вакцину против сибирской язвы. Эффективность полученных препаратов проверяли в многочисленных научно-хозяйственных опытах на различных домашних животных.

Возникла насущная потребность в практическом применении сибиреязвенной вакцины для массовых прививок овцам, крупному рогатому скоту и лошадям.

Создание станции, развитие в конце XIX — начале XX вв.

22 февраля 1897 года Таврическим губернским земством в Симферополе был открыт ветбаккабинет. Так началась история будущего Филиала ФГБУ «ВНИИЗЖ» в Республике Крым.

Директором новой структуры стал доктор А.Н. Жука. Обслуживанием занимались заведующий кабинетом, старший губернский ветеринар и 1 лаборант. Всего в губернии на начало ХХ столетия работали 29 ветеринарных врачей.

В обязанности кабинета входило расплодка сибиреязвенной вакцины, контроль за ее применением в хозяйствах. Благодаря предохранительным прививкам удалось ликвидировать эпизоотии сибирской язвы в степных районах Таврии.

В 1903 году ветбаккабинет переименован в ветбаклабораторию. Для нее губернское земство построило специальное здание. Это позволило расширить объем работы лаборатории и начать производство вакцины против рожи свиней, сбор и хранение овечьей оспенной лимфы, а также продолжать изготовление вакцины против сибирской язвы. Лаборатория проводила диагностику массовых болезней животных, таких как сап лошадей, туберкулез крупного рогатого скота и др.

В 1931 году на базе ветбаклаборатории создан ветбакинститут. В его задачи вошло изготовление вакцины против сибирской язвы, рожи свиней, пастереллеза, а также сывороток крови против этих болезней и некоторых других препаратов.

В 1935 году институт переименован в Крымскую НИВС УНИИЭВ. Станция прекращает выпуск биопрепаратов и полностью переключается на проведение научно-исследовательских работ по изучению распространения, эпизоотологии, профилактики и лечению массовых болезней животных и птиц. Совместно с ветеринарами-практиками была проведена большая работа по выявлению туберкулезных и бруцеллезных коров в хозяйствах Крыма. Обследованы лошади на сап, внедрена вакцинация овец против оспы. Начаты работы по изучению гельминтофауны и иксодофауны у животных на полуострове, исследования по изучению болезней кроликов и пчел.

Достойную лепту в решение этих задач внесли Ю.Ф. Нестерова, К.Л. Семенчук, Е.И. Скрипник. Доктор ветеринарных наук Евдокия Ивановна Скрипник за годы своей плодотворной деятельности на станции (1935-1960) впервые в мире диагностировала и описала кандидамикоз вымени у крупного рогатого скота. Ею доказано, что в этиологии массовых болезней телят значительное место занимают диплококки. Она разработала и организовала производство специфических сывороток для лечения и профилактики этих заболеваний.

В связи с особенностями климата и территориального положения Крым является стационарно неблагополучной зоной по кровепаразитарным заболеваниям сельскохозяйственных животных что обусловило необходимость всестороннего изучения этой проблемы. К числу первых исследователей, затративших много сил и времени на изучение фауны иксодовых клещей в Крыму, следует отнести В.И. Курчатова и Б.Д. Соколова, которые занимались этими вопросами в тридцатых-сороковых годах прошлого столетия. Они приводят данные по распространению, сезонности развития иксодид и составу хозяев клещей в связи с пироплазмидозными заболеваниями домашних животных.

В предвоенные годы на станции трудилось 33 сотрудника, в том числе 10 кандидатов наук.

Военные годы, развитие во второй половине XX в.

В военные годы часть работников станции сражалась на фронтах Великой Отечественной войны, другая – была эвакуирована на восток, вглубь страны, третья – пережила ужас оккупации немецкими захватчиками. В 1945 году штат станции состоял всего из 14 человек, из которых было четыре кандидата наук.

Несмотря на значительные трудности, обусловленные слабой технической оснащенностью, коллектив станции постоянно работал над совершенствованием способов борьбы с массовыми болезнями животных. Эти работы проводились в тесном сотрудничестве со специалистами хозяйств, районов и областного управления Крыма.

Таким образом, были найдены пути эффективной борьбы с туберкулезом, бруцеллезом, сапом. Крымская область одной из первых на Украине освободилась от этих болезней. Стойкое благополучие по этим некогда грозным инфекциям удерживается уже несколько десятилетий.

Послевоенные годы, конец XX- начало XXI вв.

 

В послевоенное время, постепенно с каждым годом, увеличивалось производство яиц и мяса птицы. Поэтому в условиях интенсивного птицеводства значительно менялось течение хорошо известных нам болезней птиц, а также возникали ранее не регистрированные в Крыму заболевания.

Если провести исторический анализ по инфекционным болезням птиц в Крыму, то наибольшую значимость имели вирусные заболевания. Так в 60-70 гг. изучением ньюкаслской болезни занимались Богданов В. Г., 1968; Сикачина В. И., 1977. Впервые разработана и внедрена в практику крове-капельная реакция агглютинации, которая позволила разработать экспресс диагностику ньюкаслской болезни птиц (В. Г. Богданов, В.Ф. Макогон, 1990 г.).

 

В 1995-2005 гг. ученые КНИВС углубленно изучали такие болезни птиц, как инфекционный ларинготрахеит, вирусный энтерит гусят, болезнь Гамборо, псевдочуму, микоплазмоз (Макогон В. Ф., Богданов В. Г., Белявцева Е. А.).

Среди вирусных болезней промышленной птицы, которые регистрировали в Крыму в последнее десятилетие, были: высокопатогенный грипп птиц, инфекционная бурсальная болезнь, инфекционный ларинготрахеит, болезнь Марека.

В 2005, 2006 и 2008 годах в Крыму регистрировали высокопатогенный грипп птиц, всего за этот период было выявлено 26 неблагополучных пунктов, где погибло и уничтожено 265 110 голов птицы.

 

В 2010 году на птицефабрике АООО «Южная-Холдинг» в Республике Крым была зарегистрирована вспышка инфекционной бурсальной болезни. Динамика развития заболевания в данном хозяйстве характеризовалась внезапностью возникновения и быстрым распространением болезни.

В 2011 году на этой же птицефабрике регистрировали вспышку инфекционного ларинготрахеита среди вакцинированной птицы 150–162-дневного возраста.

В 2013 году на частном подворье Симферопольского района регистрировали болезнь Марека среди не иммунных кур молодок.

Устранение вспышек вышеперечисленных заболеваний не проходило без участия сотрудников лаборатории болезней птиц. Специалисты лаборатории всегда были в месте очага инфекции, отбирали материал, проводили изоляцию и первичную идентификацию возбудителей болезни, изучали их биологические свойства, разрабатывали стратегию борьбы с данными заболеваниями.

Касательно лаборатории диагностики инфекционных болезней животных – большая и весьма ценная работа по изучению кровепаразитарных заболеваний и их переносчиков — иксодовых клещей, была проделана в 1950-1970гг. М.В. Карташовым, Д.К. Нечиненным, В.И. Курчатовым, В.М.Романовым. Главный акцент их работы был направлен на разработку методов борьбы с пастбищными клещами и кровепаразитами животных (мелкий и крупный рогатый скот, лошади). В результате их работы был рекомендован и внедрен в практику аэрозольный метод борьбы с эктопаразитами в помещениях и на пастбищах. Были изучены вопросы взаимосвязей иксодовых клещей и гемоспоридий, разработаны способы митигирующей профилактики кровепаразитарных заболеваний.

Почти через полвека, в 2000 — 2005 гг., проблема кровепаразитарных заболеваний и их клещей-переносчиков стала вновь актуальной. В частности, после 1991 г., в связи с началом перестроечных процессов в сельском хозяйстве были прекращены плановые лечебно-профилактические обработки овец антипротозойными и акарицидными препаратами, вследствие чего резко возросла заболеваемость овец кровепаразитарными заболеваниями — анаплазмозом и бабезиозом. Сотрудниками станции, В.А. Волколуповой, В.А.Пинчуком, М.А. Пасунькиной, Н.Г. Онищенко была проведена работа по изучению видового разнообразия фаунистического комплекса иксодовых клещей, паразитирующих на овцах в Крыму, усовершенствованию методов диагностики и разработке системы профилактики кровепаразитарных заболеваний овец.

Сотрудниками станции И.В. Лопаревым, И.Ф. Голубевым, А.Д.Криночкиным, В.В. Литвиненко (1957-1969) был разработан и внедрен в практику аэрозольный метод профилактики и терапии диктиокаулеза крупного рогатого скота с помощью йодистого алюминия.

На станции проводилось глубокое изучение эхинококкоза и трихинеллеза свиней (Ю.Г. Артеменко, 1980-1985). Изучена эпизоотология этих инвазий, доказан факт многоштамности этих возбудителей, способность поражать только отдельные виды животных, разработана серологическая диагностика трихинеллеза.

Обширные пастбища, мягкий климат, дающий возможность пасти скот почти в течение всего года, благоприятствуют развитию в Крыму овцеводства (поголовье овец к 1980-му году насчитывало более 1,5 млн. голов). Большое внимание в это время уделялось профилактике и ликвидации болезней мелкого рогатого скота.

Была проделана огромная работа по изучению этиологии и методам борьбы со смешанными респираторными болезнями ягнят. Было установлено, что патологические процессы в респираторном тракте овец носят ассоциативный характер. Сочленами этих ассоциаций являются вирусы (адено-, рото-, парагрипп-3), бактерии (пастереллы, микоплазмы, стрептококки. стафилококки), гельминты (диктиокаулы, мюллерии, простогонимы, цистокаулы). В последующем была разработана терапия бронхопневмоний комбинированными препаратами с антибактериальным и антигельминтным действием с помощью аэрозольной обработки животных и дымовых шашек (Д.Ю. Хала, В.А. Волколупова, Ю.А. Кузнецов, 1985 - 1990).

В истории Крымской опытной станции были и тяжелые времена. Начиная с 90-х годов прошлого столетия, после того, как произошел распад СССР, для всего коллектива станции наступило время выживания. Практически прекратилось финансирование на проведение научно-исследовательских работ, на приобретение оборудования, материалов, научной литературы, произошло значительное сокращение штата сотрудников станции с 50 до 12 человек. В зимнее время из-за отсутствия средств на отопление температура в лабораторных помещениях опускалась до 6,0 — 8,0 0С.

Тем не менее, несмотря на существующие трудности, работа продолжалась. Сотрудники лаборатории в основном занимались тем, что оказывали специалистам животноводческих хозяйства научно-консультативную помощь в решении тех или иных ветеринарных проблем, и вопросов, связанных с кормлением сельскохозяйственных животных.

Также выполнялся небольшой спектр бактериологических, паразитологических и микологических исследований, определялась питательность различных групп кормов. Из-за отсутствия средств на закупку нового оборудования и стажировку сотрудников многие современные методы диагностики инфекционных заболеваний животных, такие как ИФА, ПЦР, были не недоступны.

День сегодняшний

При создании в 2014 г. Филиала ФГБУ «ВНИИЗЖ» в Республике Крым весь научный опыт и методические подходы к лабораторным исследованиям, накопленные за долгие годы работы станции, остались в стенах вновь реорганизованного учреждения.

В настоящее время в филиале работают лаборатория болезней птиц, лаборатория диагностики инфекционных болезней животных, лаборатория ихтиопатологий и ветеринарно-санитарной экспертизы рыб и беспозвоночных, лаборатория экспертизы пищевых продуктов.

Переход Крымской опытной станции в состав Всероссийского НИИ защиты животных в качестве Филиала стал новым этапом в развитии лаборатории диагностики инфекционных болезней животных. На сегодняшний день в штате лаборатории диагностики инфекционных болезней животных насчитывается 4 сотрудника, два из которых являются кандидатами наук. Основным направлением работы лаборатории диагностики инфекционных болезней животных Филиала являются осуществление эпизоотологического мониторинга с целью выявления риска заноса и степени распространения инфекционных болезней животных, оказание комплекса диагностических услуг животноводческим хозяйствам и частным владельцам животных.

В рамках государственного эпизоотологического мониторинга проводятся лабораторные исследования серологическими и молекулярно-биологическими методами. Методом иммуноферментного анализа происследовано 1080 проб сывороток крови от крупного рогатого скота на наличие антител к вирусу блютанга и болезни Шмалленберга. Методом ПЦР проведено исследование 58 проб патологического материала от мелкого рогатого скота на наличие генома вируса блютанга; 145 проб патологического материала от диких и домашних свиней, и готовой мясной продукции из Украины на наличие генома вируса африканской чумы свиней.

Сотрудниками лаборатории в рамках научно-исследовательской работы «Разработка системы идентификации опасности и определение ветеринарных рисков заноса патогенов на территорию РФ при импорте живых животных и животноводческой продукции, прогнозирование их возникновения и развития с учетом готовности ветеринарной службы» проводится изучение переносчиков и ареала распространения кровососущих насекомых - векторов трансмиссивных вирусных инфекций жвачных - болезни Шмалленберга и блютанга. С этой целью в хозяйствах Крыма установлены энтомологические ловушки для сбора мокрецов и москитов, одновременно ведется учет метеорологических показателей (температура, скорость движения воздуха, осадки).

За более чем год работы лаборатории диагностики инфекционных болезней животных произошла настоящая технологическая революция. Заканчивается реконструкция и капитальный ремонт лабораторных помещений в соответствии с требованиями европейских стандартов, проводится комплектация новым современным лабораторным оборудованием, готовится документация на получение разрешения на право работы с микроорганизмами III-IV групп патогенности. Существенно повысилась квалификация специалистов: сотрудники лаборатории успешно прошли обучение по диагностике инфекционных болезней животных, принимали участие в семинаре по противодействию африканской чумы свиней.

Деятельность сотрудников лаборатории болезней птиц направлена, в первую очередь, на контроль инфекционных заболеваний среди промышленной и домашней птицы полуострова, который достигается путём постоянных мониторинговых исследований.

На данный момент в лаборатории трудятся 6 сотрудников: 1 кандидат ветеринарных наук, 2 специалиста с высшим профильным образованием, один из которых поступил в аспирантуру ФГБУ «ВНИИЗЖ», и 3 лаборанта-исследователя.

Необходимость в мониторинговых исследованиях в Республике Крым будет всегда, так как географическое положение полуострова, который расположен на перекрестке миграционных путей перелетной птицы, а Азово-Черноморский бассейн является местом весенне-осенних остановок и зимовки больших скоплений дикой водоплавающей птицы, способствует распространению опасных инфекций. По подсчетам орнитологов и специалистов государственной ветеринарной службы только за осенне-зимний период над территорией полуострова пролетает около 25 млн. птиц, 10 млн. из них остается на зимовку, определенный процент этой птицы мигрирует через территорию полуострова во время весенней ежегодной миграции с Африканского континента.

Кроме мониторинговых исследований, лаборатория болезней птиц работает в рамках договоров с птицеводческими хозяйствами и физическими лицами (частный сектор): проводит серологические исследования биологического материала от птицы. Научные сотрудники лаборатории оказывают научно-консультативную помощь по методам диагностики и мерам борьбы с болезнями птиц. Проводят консультации по содержанию и кормлению домашней птицы. Выдают научно обоснованные заключения владельцам птиц.

Для деятельности лаборатории болезней птиц было закуплено современное диагностическое оборудование (иммунно-ферментный анализатор), которое позволяет в короткие сроки проводить серологические исследования крови птицы на наличие материнских, поствакцинальных и диагностических антител к вирусам практически всех заболеваний сельскохозяйственной птицы.

За период 2014-2015 годов объём серологических исследований методом ИФА составил 550 исследований, методом постановки реакции торможения гемагглютинации – 230. Кроме того, сотрудниками лаборатории проводится работа по подготовке документов для аккредитации (подготовлены стандартные операционные процедуры на серологические виды исследований, рабочие инструкции на имеющееся в лаборатории оборудование).

В ближайшем будущем, по завершению ремонтных работ, планируется приобрести оборудование для молекулярно-генетических исследований (ПЦР). Появление нового метода диагностических исследований поставит уровень лаборатории на новую «ступень» развития. Позволит в кратчайшие сроки проводить качественную диагностику инфекционных болезней птиц, вести научную работу по изучению молекулярно-биологических свойств изолятов возбудителей инфекционных болезней птиц.

Деятельность филиала ФГБУ «ВНИИЗЖ» направлена на обеспечение пищевой безопасности в Республике Крым и г. Севастополе, государственного эпизоотического мониторинга особо опасных болезней общих для животных и человека, ведение научно-исследовательской деятельности.

Все желающие сотрудники сохранили свои рабочие места и продолжают заниматься научной деятельностью на благо здоровья животных Крыма. Созданы новые рабочие места для расширения штата, утверждено штатное расписание на 61 человек. Сейчас в филиале трудятся 4 кандидатов наук и 20 специалистов с высшим профильным образованием.